Subscribe to Paula's newsletter

* indicates required

Message for my readers: 


I still remember my first Romance Writers of America© conference. It was huge, overwhelming, and filled with some of my favorite authors. I got to meet one in an elevator (she spoke to me!) and I fan-girled over another at a librarian event. Both were so incredibly approachable, appreciative, and generous.

The moral of this story?

Writers are readers, too. We’re also human. Like my books? (And I hope you do.) Or hate them? (Please say it isn’t so!) Either way, feel free to connect with me through my newsletter, blog, or on social media. I’d love to hear from you.

Oh, and be sure to leave a review!

Paula Altenburg


Latest Releases

Book 3 in the Spy Games series is coming September 12th! 

“International intrigue, adversaries with more in common than they want to admit, and ohhhh the chemistry…I couldn’t put Her Spy To Have down!” ~Samanthe Beck, USA Today Bestselling Author of Emergency Engagement

About the Spy Games series:

The Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) is a civilian organization that collects and analyzes security intelligence for risks on behalf of the Canadian government and its citizens both at home and abroad.

Deeply committed to their work, and very protective of their reputation for integrity and openness, what happens when an intelligence officer’s integrity is compromised by—or for—someone they’ve come to love?


I don’t have a cover for His Spy at Night yet, but you can read the first chapter here.

paula altenburg


For love of the game.

You win some, you lose some.

Canadian Security Intelligence Service officer Marlies Wiersma plays hard and loves harder—sometimes with disastrous results. After falling for a man who wasn’t who he pretended to be, Lies is anxious to prove to her boss that she won’t make the same mistake twice. She accepts an assignment which pits her against a charming crime lord—and alongside a diplomat with no patience for spy games, particularly feminine ones.

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer.

When a national security threat results in Canadian Defence Trade Commissioner Harry Jordan harboring a spy in his embassy office, his instincts scream that Lies Wiersma is a woman not to be trusted. The two of them are supposed to be on the same team, but Lies is a little too good at these games for Harry’s personal comfort. He’s been burned by a woman before.

Harry’s reluctance to play along proves to be too much temptation for fun-loving Lies to resist, and once again, she finds herself in over her head with a man. This time, however, he’s exactly who he claims to be.

Now Lies has to convince Harry that, no matter who she pretends to be during the day, at night she’s all his.

And here’s a little teaser:

“I was there too, and I wasn’t complaining. Don’t you want it to be, I don’t know…” She shrugged. His jacket slid off her shoulder. “Uninhibited? Daring? To go wherever your imagination takes you? Us?” She leaned closer and tugged at his tie with her free hand. “Take me home. Then tell me what you want me to do to you, Harry,” she whispered, her breath warm on his throat, and he swallowed. “Better yet, make it an order. Trust me, I wouldn’t complain about that either.”

Spy Games Book Two

Read Chapter One here

Two can play this particular game.

When software engineer Dr. Irina Glasov’s top secret project is compromised, Irina has no one she can trust and only one place to turn.

Canadian Security Intelligence Services officer Kale Martin is ready to step up to the plate. Finished with his latest assignment, he’s all-in to help the reserved but very sexy Dr. Glasov find her man. Getting the brilliant doctor to let down her guard long enough for things to heat up between them quickly becomes a game Kale plays to win.

Irina’s not foolish enough to trust her heart to a man who lies for a living, and she knows he’s been lying to her. That doesn’t mean she’s not willing to play along.

Unfortunately, a cyberstalker is playing with her, too. Irina soon has no choice but to put all her faith in Kale, because with a higher priority case unfolding for CSIS, he’s left on his own to investigate. Can they work together to figure out who’s hacking into her computer before her reputation is ruined?

Or is Kale the one who will ruin her?

Buy: Kobo/ iBooks/ Barnes & Noble

Spy Games Book One

Read Chapter One here

The games are about to begin.

Au pair and Canadian ex-pat Isabelle Beausejour has been living abroad for most of her twenty-four years, traveling the world with her irresponsible father. When Isabelle finds herself stranded in Bangkok, with no job, no money, and nowhere to turn, she soon becomes desperate.

Canadian Security Intelligence Service officer Garrett Downing is on the hunt for Canadian military goods that have gone missing. Instead, he finds himself coming to the aid of a young Canadian woman with more resourcefulness than common sense.

Isabelle has no choice but to accept a stranger’s help in getting back home to Canada. Once there, however, as enemies turn into lovers, it soon becomes a game of keeping secrets. Garrett is more than he seems. Isabelle knows more than she’s willing to admit. Will she choose loyalty to her father over the love of a man who tells lies for a living?


Buy: Kobo/ iBooks/ Barnes & Noble

Books in the Spy Games series:

Her Spy to Have, Book One ~ Available now

Her Spy to Hold, Book Two ~ Available now

His Spy at Night, Book Three ~ September 2016

His Spy at Dawn, Book Four ~ January 2017